The fear factor giving way to the peer factor | Graham Newell

The Whole Education Blog

graham_sm

The inspiring future of school improvement lies in the fear factor giving way to the peer factor.” Hargreaves and Shirley, 2010

This quote is incredibly powerful; it hints at a change in the attitudes towards professionalism over the last 30 years.  When I started teaching, teachers were considered rulers of their own classroom.

My first action as a newly qualified teacher was to cover up the window in the door so no one could see into my ‘kingdom’.  I was quite a good teacher, with outstanding exam results, but what I did was my business and I rarely interacted with colleagues on a professional basis. Today the picture is quite different.

The peer factor

I truly believe that teachers today are better trained and (usually) more open to collaboration and self-reflection than I ever was.  This leads to higher quality teaching and much higher standards.

I look at the enthusiasm…

View original post 349 more words

Leave a Reply

